Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

College of Sciences and Mathematics Cites Top Graduates


JONESBORO -- The College of Sciences and Mathematics at Arkansas State University recently recognized 26 outstanding graduating students for 2014-15 during the college’s annual awards ceremony, according to Dr. John Pratte, dean of the college.

The Chancellor’s Scholar award was presented to Rebecca Mackie of Russellville.  The Chancellor’s Scholar is the graduating student with the highest overall grade point average in the respective academic college. 

The departmental awards are presented during Convocation of Scholars to the graduate in each degree program who has most excelled in scholarship, leadership and service to the department.

Those receiving awards and their respective degree programs were:

Biological Sciences
Ryan Oliver of Henderson, BS, biological sciences (pre-professional studies); Ujasbhai Patel of Trumann, BS, biological sciences (zoology); Kelsey Lambert of Paragould, BS, biological sciences (environmental sciences); Alyssa Caparas of Jonesboro, BS, biological sciences; Geoffrey Kevin Payne of Doniphan, Missouri, BS, wildlife ecology and management; Katie Barger of Quitman, BSE, biological sciences.

Chemistry and Physics
Rebecca Mackie of Russellville, BA, chemistry; Connor Gatewood of Jonesboro, BS, chemistry; Clayton Kardas of Magnolia, BS, physics; Hannah Keith of Jonesboro, BS, forensic science.

Computer Sciences 
Andrew Dunnam of Jonesboro, BA, computer science; Quan Nguyen of Hanoi, Vietnam, and Ian Bitts of Snellville, Georgia, BS, computer science.

Brittany Kelly of Little Rock and Christopher Wright of Lake City, BSE, mathematics; Belina Santos of Trumann, BS, mathematics.

Graduate Programs
Graduate student awards were presented to seven candidates for the master’s degree and two candidates for doctoral degrees.

The students and their respective programs were: Kari Harris of Marmaduke and Phillip Jordan of Lake City, MS, biology; Haven May of Jonesboro, MSE, biology;  Tianyu Bai of Beijing, China, MS, computer science; Mary Mann of Cherry Valley, MS, mathematics; Daniel Istvanko of Bartlett, Tennessee, Ph.D, environmental sciences; and Daniel Johnson of Barton, Ph.D., molecular biosciences.

# # #