Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

College of Fine Arts Recognizes Outstanding Graduates


JONESBORO – Ten students in the College of Fine Arts at Arkansas State University were recognized during Convocation of Scholars as the most outstanding graduates of their respective degree programs, according to Dr. Don Bowyer, dean of the college.

The Chancellor’s Scholar award was presented to Aaron Decker of Jonesboro, a music major, who had the highest overall grade point average (4.0) and the most credit hours.  William Kazyak of Manila received the 4.0 Graduate Award.

In the Department of Art, the graduating senior awards were presented to Jessica Corder of Jonesboro, BFA, art (studio art emphasis); Victoria Morgan of Maynard, BFA, art (art education emphasis); and Kristen Jones of Jonesboro, BFA, graphic design.

Graduating senior awards in the Department of Music were presented Erin Graham of Southaven, Mississippi, BM, instrumental performance; Aaron Decker of Jonesboro, BME, instrumental music education; and Jacob Bushong of Paragould, BME, vocal music education.

The Department of Theatre award recipients were Cody Campbell of Jonesboro, BFA, theatre, design technology emphasis, and Sarah Ring of Cabot, BFA, theatre, acting emphasis.

Each award is based on academic achievement and contributions to the respective department.  All students participated extensively in College of Fine Art activities and won many honors while pursuing their degrees at A-State.

# # #

Fine Arts Center
Fine Arts Center