Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Arkansas State University Alumni Association Elects New Officers and Board Members


JONESBORO – The Arkansas State University Alumni Association elected new officers and board members at its annual meeting held Saturday, Aug. 31, at the Cooper Alumni Center.

"After serving on the ASU Alumni Association board for several years, I am excited to be stepping up to the office of president,” said incoming president Rich Carvell Jr. of Bentonville. “In following past presidents such as Gary Pugh, Paul Rowton, and Charlotte Razer, I have some big shoes to fill. However, with the support of the current board and Beth Smith and the outstanding staff of the Association, I know that we will continue to be successful. The last few years have seen incredible change for Arkansas State University and the ASU Alumni Association and the future for both institutions is bright."

Officers (two-year terms):

Assuming office as president is Rich Carvell Jr., BS-Business ’91, from Bentonville. Serving as vice president is Dr. Charisse Childers, BS-Marketing ’88, MSE-Business Education ’91, SCCT Community College Teaching ’01, from Little Rock. The new secretary/treasurer is Margo AufderHeide, BS-Marketing ’76, from De Witt. Charlotte Razer, ’86, Blytheville, becomes the past president.

Board Members (three-year terms):

Elected from the First Congressional District are: Rusty Chambers, BS-Marketing ’89, and Lynn Howerton, BS-Social Work ’90, from Jonesboro, as well as Mike Williams, BS-Agricultural Business ’92, from Paragould.

Brandon Morris, BS-Journalism ’08, from Pine Bluff, represents the Second Congressional District.

Representing the state of Missouri is Bob McCuiston, BS-Physical Education ’65, MSE–Physical Education’68, from Kennett, Mo.

The Arkansas State University Alumni Association, which was founded in 1924, is governed by a volunteer board that meets three times per year. For more information on becoming a member of the Association, visit www.astatealumni.org.

# # #

Charlotte Razer and Rich Carvell Jr.
Charlotte Razer and Rich Carvell Jr.