Welcome to Arkansas State University!
+ Campus notification: Campus Activities Resume

Campus Activities Continue Today

Campus activities will continue today, including Dean B. Ellis Library opening at noon, women's basketball this afternoon at 2 p.m. and the Delta Symphony Concert at Fowler Center.

With up to a 1/4 inch of ice on trees around campus, please use caution as the ice begins to fall from trees and elevated surfaces. Many tree limbs have fallen, and during today, more will fall with the ice load in the wind.

While the icy landscape looks pretty, please stay away from low hanging branches and watch out for persistent icy patches on the ground.

More Information
University Communications

Emergency Contact
University Police

Social Media
Facebook Twitter
X Close

News Article

Arkansas State Master of Public Administration Student Wins Alexander Scholarship


JONESBORO, Ark. — Arkansas State University graduate student Tungaa Bayarsaikhan recently received the prestigious Alexander Scholarship from the Arkansas City Management Association (ACMA) during the organization’s fall conference in Little Rock.

The Alexander Scholarship is awarded to a student who is interested in urban government, especially city management. Criteria also include academic excellence and commitment to public service and professional management.

Bayarsaikhan and fellow student, Yusuf Demirtas of Turkey, currently enrolled in the Department of Political Science’s two graduate programs attended the meeting where they met city managers and staff members from cities across the state of Arkansas and participated in the business of the ACMA meeting. Dr. Richard Wang, associate professor of political science, accompanied them.

At the close of the meeting a special ceremony was held during which Bayarsaikhan was presented the $1,000 award by David Watkins, ACMA vice president and Hot Springs city manager.

Bayarsaikhan, a native of Mongolia, holds multiple degrees from Mongolian National University (BA, MA, Law Degree) and worked as a staff member in the Mongolian Parliament from 2005-10. After finishing her degree at Arkansas State, she plans to return to her home country and resume her work with the Mongolian government.

City Management Association Award

Arkansas City Management Association (ACMA) vice president and Hot Springs city manager David Watkins (right) presents Arkansas State University master of public administration student Tungaa Bayarsaikhan with the Alexander Scholarship at the ACMA Fall Meeting in Little Rock.