Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Arkansas Delta Byways presents 13th Annual Awards for Tourism Achievement


The 13th annual Delta Awards recognizing tourism achievements in Eastern Arkansas were presented during festivities Friday evening, Feb. 1, at Phillips Community College of the University of Arkansas in Helena.

The event was sponsored by Arkansas Delta Byways, the nonprofit association recognized by the Arkansas Department of Parks and Tourism as the official tourism promotion association for 15 counties in Eastern Arkansas.

Arkansas Delta Byways is located on the Arkansas State University campus in Jonesboro and receives administrative support through Arkansas State University’s Arkansas Heritage Sites Office.

Counties that participate in the association are Arkansas, Chicot, Clay, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Desha, Drew, Greene, Lee, Mississippi, Monroe, Phillips, Poinsett and St. Francis.

The event also received support from Phillips Community College, the Delta Cultural Center, the Helena Advertising and Promotion Commission, and the Phillips County Chamber of Commerce.

Finalists for the awards were as follows, with the winner denoted by *:

Media Support Award
  • Mark Spencer, Monticello
  • “Sunshine” Sonny Payne, Helena
  • *ASU Creative Services, All Counties
Hospitality Award
  • Edwardian Inn, Helena
  • Cajun Express, Wheatley
  • *Whitton Farms, Whitton
Entrepreneur Award
  • Handworks, Helena
  • Main Street Paragould, Paragould
  • *Jones Bar-B-Q Diner, Marianna
Tourism Support Award
  • AR Midland Railroad Santa Train, Drew, Desha and Chicot Counties
  • *150th Birthday Celebration of Cross County, Wynne (tie)
  • *Southland Park Gaming & Racing, West Memphis (tie)
Festival/Event of the Year
  • Zombie Walk, Paragould
  • Tyronza Stars & Stripes Jubilee, Tyronza
  • *80th Birthday Tribute to Johnny Cash, Dyess
Boot Strap Award
  • Granny Clay’s Kitchen, Marked Tree
  • Helena Second Saturdays, Helena
  • *Scarecrow Contest, Marion
Promotional Award
  • Main Street Dumas National Historic District, Dumas
  • Historic District Steamboat Partnership, Helena
  • *Hemingway-Pfeiffer Educational Center African Safari Exhibit, Piggott
Outstanding Member Award

Marcel Hanzlik, Wynne

Cultural Heritage Award
  • Arkansas Post Museum State Park, Exhibit Buildings, Gillette
  • Lakeport Plantation Exhibits, Lake Village
  • *Bridging the Blues, Helena
Tourism Person of the Year
  • Joe St. Columbia, Helena
  • Troy Keeping, West Memphis
  • *Cindy Smith, McGehee

For more details about the awards, contact Arkansas Delta Byways, 870-972-2803.

# # #

Arkansas Delta Byways logo