Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Alumni Association Elects New Officers and Board Members


JONESBORO – The Arkansas State University Alumni Association is announcing its most recently elected officers and board members.

Margo AufderHeide Kagebein, BS-Marketing ’76, of DeWitt is the new president.  Having served on the board for the past 12 years, she expressed enthusiasm for her work with the association in a letter to fellow alumni.

"In this capacity it has been an amazing, heart-warming experience reconnecting with so many people and making great new friends – fellow alumni from A-State," she wrote in the latest issue of VOICES, the association's magazine, which was mailed to members this week.

Serving as vice president is Nonie Wiggins, BSN-Nursing '83, SSCT '09, EdD ’11, while the new secretary/treasurer is Rusty Chambers, BS-Marketing '89.  Both live in Jonesboro.  Rich Carvell Jr., BS-Business ’91, of Bentonville is past president.  Board officers serve two-year terms.

Five individuals were elected to three-year terms on the board.

From the First Congressional District are: Rick Miles, BS-Marketing ’78, of Jonesboro; Dale Morris, BA-Zoology, '70, of Forrest City; and Wiggins.

Dr. Charisse Childers, BS-Marketing ’88, MSE-Business Education ’91, SCCT Community College Teaching ’01, from Little Rock, represents the Second Congressional District.

Stacy Crawford, BA-Social Work '97, of Jonesboro, who was recently appointed by Gov. Asa Hutchinson to the ASU Board of Trustees, also has joined the Alumni Association board as an ex-officio member.

The Arkansas State University Alumni Association, which was founded in 1924, is governed by a volunteer board that meets three times per year.  For more information on becoming a member of the Association, visit AStateAlumni.org

# # #

Margo AufderHeide Kagebein
Margo AufderHeide Kagebein