Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Agriculture Majors Receive Jim & Betty T. Sloan Memorial Scholarships


JONESBORO – Two upper-level agriculture students at Arkansas State University will continue their studies this fall as the latest recipients of the Jim and Betty T. Sloan Memorial Scholarship.

Brittany Deanna Barnes of Newport and Ryan Holbert of Gillett were selected for one of the most prestigious scholarships awarded by the agriculture program.

Both Jim Sloan and his widow Betty Teeter Sloan were leaders in Arkansas agriculture and the Jonesboro community. He served on the Arkansas Farm Bureau board for 10 years, 1969-1979. She was inducted into the Arkansas Agriculture Hall of Fame in 2007.

Through the ASU Foundation, the family established the scholarship endowment with support from the Craighead County Farm Bureau in 1980, soon after Jim Sloan died. It was renamed for both of them after Betty Sloan died in November 2014.

Barnes, a senior majoring in plant science, has maintained a 4.0 grade-point average while participating in university service organizations.  She also works as an intern for the USDA's Agricultural Research Service and A‑State's crop genetics lab.  Her career goal is to be a crop consultant.

Holbert is a junior agricultural business major, with an emphasis in marketing and management.  He also serves as a volunteer for several charitable activities and organizations and is a member of Sigma Chi fraternity.  He is planning a career in seed sales.

“The family of Jim and Betty Teeter Sloan continues to make a positive impact on Arkansas Agriculture through the scholarship bearing their parent’s names,” said Dr. Tim Burcham, dean.  “The College of Agriculture and Technology is thankful for the Sloan’s family’s generous support.  This prestigious scholarship provides a wonderful opportunity for our top-performing students to enhance their education at Arkansas State University.”

Information about establishing a scholarship endowment in support of the university's mission of educating leaders, enhancing intellectual growth and enriching lives is available by contacting the university's Office of Development, (870) 972-3940.

# # #

Brittany Deanna Barnes


Ryan Holbe