Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

29 Outstanding Students Receive 2016 ‘Who’s Who’ Award


JONESBORO – Twenty-nine outstanding upper-level students at Arkansas State University have been named to the prestigious “Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges” for 2015‑16.  The students were introduced during a campus ceremony recognizing student leaders.

"It’s great to be able to look back through A-State’s history of selecting and nominating such outstanding student leaders to Who’s Who," according to Dr. Rick Stripling, vice chancellor for Student Affairs.  "The names of previous winners continue to appear in local, state, and even national news for their continued contributions to society. This fulfills the program’s intent, which is to recognize and encourage student leaders who demonstrate consistent excellence. This year’s nominees most certainly live up to that standard."

Ellen Hakenewerth of Jonesboro received the "Outstanding Who's Who" award and a scholarship from Crews and Associates of Little Rock.  The Crews firm was represented by Sam Urton, an A-State alumnus.

The Who’s Who honorees for 2015-16 and their academic program majors are listed below, and their portraits are online:

  • Stephen D. Berry, Mountain Home, psychology
  • Erica A. Blackford of Marion, interdisciplinary studies
  • Justin S. Carothers of Pine Bluff, political science
  • Christina M. Chen of Jonesboro, international business and marketing
  • Hunter M. Clampit of Harrisburg, nursing
  • Miles J. Clover of Fort Smith, sports management
  • Drake H. Cullum of Bono, chemistry and biological sciences
  • Taylor N. Duvall of Morrilton, political science
  • Rebekah A. Frayer of Caraway, interdisciplinary studies
  • Bethany J. Gallimore of Hot Springs, communication studies
  • Rebecca M. Galloway of Stuttgart, journalism
  • Ellen M. Hakenewerth of Jonesboro, strategic communication
  • Brandon M. Haley of Marion, health studies
  • Anna Hermes of Dorlar, Germany, journalism
  • Christopher J. Hooks of Stuttgart, business administration
  • Oluwayinka O. Iseyemi of Nigeria, environmental sciences
  • Gary B. Jackson of Altheimer, teaching
  • Erin A. Langley of Beebe, biological sciences
  • Najwa T. Lee of Newport, interdisciplinary studies
  • Angel T. Livingston of Dumas, nursing
  • Cesar A. Marroquin of Monette, strategic communication
  • Marshall K. McDaniel of Jonesboro, health studies
  • Sahitya  Pattigadapa of Khammam of India, engineering management
  • Emily A. Peters of Marion, interdisciplinary studies
  • Destiny L. Quinn of Jonesboro, multimedia journalism
  • Amber D. Ray of Little Rock, nursing
  • Erin E. Wadley of Sherwood, political science
  • DeAnna L. Watson of North Little Rock, health promotion
  • Jason E. White of Jacksonville, international business

About the Who’s Who program

Who’s Who Among Students is one of the most highly regarded and long-standing honors programs, having earned the respect of faculty members and administrators throughout the nation. Selections to Who’s Who Among Students are made each fall by individual colleges and universities.

Campus nominating committees, created to nominate eligible upperclassmen and graduate students, are composed of representatives from the faculty, staff and student body. Each school in the national program has an assigned quota of nominees, calculated to ensure a well-rounded representation of the student body.

# # #

Ellen Hakenewerth of Jonesboro and Sam Urton, representing Crews and Associates of Little Rock