Welcome to Arkansas State University!

Dr. Sarah Jones-Hayes

Instructor of Music


  • D.M.A., University of Michigan
  • M.M., Cleveland Institute of Music
  • B.M., Cleveland Institute of Music

Teaching Specialties

  • Applied Violin and Viola
  • Chamber Music
  • Orchestra

Research Interests

  • Violin Performance


Dr. Sarah Jones-Hayes holds a DMA in violin performance from the University of Michigan and received her bachelors and masters degrees in violin performance from the Cleveland Institute of Music. Her masters degree was in performance and Suzuki pedagogy. She completed her long term Suzuki training with Kimberly Meier-Sims. Principal teachers include David Updegraff, Constantine Kiradjieff, Paul Sonner, and David Halen.

Dr. Jones-Hayes has taught at the Cleveland Institute of Music's preparatory department, Interlochen Arts Camp and Violin Institute,Wayne State University, the University of Michigan and masterclasses throughout the US. A member of the Canton Symphony Orchestra, she also performs frequently with Akron and Traverse Symphony Orchestras and has appeared as soloist with the Southeastern Ohio Symphony Orchestra. Recent performances include festival performances at the International Music Academy Plzn, Czech Republic, Boston Early Music Festival, and Mary Foulger Memorial Concerts at Lincoln Center.

Sarah Jones-Hayes

Contact Information

P: (870) 972-3757
F: (870) 972-3932


Building: Fine Arts Center
Room: 235