Tentative Faculty Senate Agenda November 7, 2014 3:00 p.m.

Approval of October 17, 2014 minutes (attached)

Guest: Dr. Bill Smith, Executive Director of Marketing

Media or press releases from A-State are for our own news items. Our news items are being picked up by newspapers less frequently today as compared to a few years ago.

Inside A-State is for the Faculty at A-State; it is our newsletter. Not just for scholarship. All previous newsletters can be found at the bottom of the website at http://www.astate.edu/a/asunews/inside/

Development, Communication and Alumni Committee

- One representative from each college
- Additional representatives from professional areas
- Meets once a month 12 months when possible
- Planning for future events
- Discussion of projects

Follow us at:

- AState.edu
- A-State SmartCampus app (now iOS and Android)
- Facebook.com/ArkansasState
- Twitter.com/ArkansasState
- Instagram.com/ArkansasState
- Vimeo.com/ArkansasState

Stories that enhance content marketing to potential students take top priority.

Old Business:

14FA 02

Motion to accept

Vote: unanimous in the affirmative

New Business:

Committee Reports:

Ad Hoc Faculty Load Committee – Drs. Beineke & Holifield

Committee has had an organizational meeting. Committee members are John Beineke, Mitch Holifield (co-chairs), Rejoice Addae, Shivan Haran, and Brenda Anderson.

Topics discussed include:

- 1. Minimum number of students for a class to make
 - a. Lower undergraduate
 - b. Higher undergraduate
 - c. Graduate
- 2. Maximum number/cap of students for a class
- 3. Compensation for overloads
 - a. Theses
 - b. Dissertations
 - c. Courses
 - d. Internships and Practica
- 4. Summer School
 - a. Contracts
 - b. Advising
 - c. Prorating Salaries
- 5. Intellectual Property
 - a. Syllabi
 - b. Course materials
- 6. Office Hours

Organizational Restructuring Task Force – Dr. Bruce Johnson

Motion by Bill Rowe: I move that an ad hoc committee be formed to collaborate with administration in sharing information, exploring options, and making recommendations pertaining to changes in academic structures and programs. I also move that this committee be composed of the nine members of the Faculty Senate Task force on Restructuring as well as invited representatives of the Faculty Senate, Staff Senate, SGA, Graduate Student Council, and a representative from the A-State Alumni Association or their designee.

Q: Are more committee members being added?

A: Yes.

Q: Why are we not using our SGOC.

A: In part we are acting quickly. In addition, SGOC does not have representation from each college.

Q: How can this be done by February?

Comment: The committee should seek input from the Chancellor and Provost.

Q: Do we want to vote on this today, or take back to our constituencies first?

A: (Judy Pfreimer) I say that we should vote today. The committee has representation from every group that should be there.

Vote: unanimous in the affirmative except for two abstentions

Historical Committee - Distinguished Alumni – Dr. John Hall

Julie Isaacson and John Hall met with Bill Smith. Formal invitations will be sent out to the individuals. Main event in the large room in Cooper Alumni. Refreshments in the hallway

December 4, Hopefully we will have good attendance at both events

Benefits Committee:

Have to go on the website if you want to make changes to your benefits.

If you have someone in your family that lives out of state, let HR know so they are not billed as out of state.

Ad hoc committee on student evaluations of teaching has been dormant, have been to a webinar. Will report next semester.

Fabricio Medina Bolivar: Budget task force met with Brian Rogers. There is a new faculty liaison.

Other:

Faculty Association – Foundation Account Information:

Electronic vote on whether or not we should invest the money from the faculty after conferring with Phillip Jackson.

Meeting adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Bruce Johnson

		11/07/2014		
		Present	Absent	Proxy
Chair	Julie Isaacson	x		
Agriculture	Greg Phillips	х		
Business	Sam Pae	x		
	Richard Segall	x		
	Jollean Sinclaire	х		

Education	John Beineke	Х	
	Julie Grady	х	
	John Hall	х	
	Mitch Holifiled	х	
	Ryan Kelly	х	
	Andy Mooneyhan		
Engineering	Shivan Haran	x	
Fine Arts	Kyle Chandler		x
	, Claire Abernathy		х
	Bill Rowe		х
Humanities & SS	Win Bridges		x
	Hans Hacker		x
	Gretchen Hill	х	~
	Warren Johnson	x	
	Cherisse Jones-Branch	X	х
	cherisse sones brunen		Х
Library	Wendy Crist	х	
Media & Comm.	Pradeep Mishra	x	
	Larz Roberts	х	
Military Science	Cecil Clark		х
Nursing & HP	Brenda Anderson	х	
	Rejoice Addae	х	
	Donna Caldwell	х	
	Larry Morton	х	
	Judy Pfriemer	х	
	Debbie Shelton	x	
Science & Math	Jeff Jenness	x	
	Bruce Johnson	х	
	Fabricio Medina-Bolivar	х	
	Suzanne Melescue	X	
University			
College	Nikesha Nesbitt	х	