Proposal for New Shared Governance Committee on Campus Safety

Submitted by ASU Jonesboro Faculty Senate and ASU Jonesboro Student Affairs

September 13, 2010

The Campus Safety Committee functions as a clearinghouse for safety policies, procedures, and initiatives undertaken on the ASU campus. The committee also receives and reviews constituent input regarding policy changes and physical modifications to increase campus safety. Constituent input is routed to the appropriate campus department for review and possible implementation. The committee shall:

- Collaborate with appropriate campus departments as needed to address safety concerns submitted by students, staff, and faculty.
- Collaborate with University Police Department and Environmental Health and Safety Department (EHS) to promote awareness of workplace safety and emergency response procedures.
- Report annually to the chancellor on comments and concerns submitted to the committee by students, staff, and faculty, along with follow-through action taken by the committee and relevant campus department(s).

The committee will select a chair, vice chair, and recording secretary from among its membership. The chair will serve a one-year term and may be reappointed to a consecutive one-year term.

Membership:

- 1 Faculty member appointed by Senate appointment (2-year term)
- 1 Non-faculty member appointed by Staff Senate (2-year term)
- 2 Undergraduate students appointed by Student Government Association (1-year term)
- 1 Graduate student appointed by Graduate Student Council (1-year term)
- 1 Chief of University Police Department or designee
- 1 Director of Environmental Health and Safety or designee
- 1 Director of Information Technology and Services or designee
- 1 Director of Facilities Management or designee
- 1 Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs (ex-officio)

2010 August 25