Faculty Senate Minutes September 17, 2010

The Faculty Senate was called to order by President Beverly Boals Gilbert at 3 p.m.

New Business:

President Gilbert proposed that Senator Andy Mooneyham be approved as Senate Vice-Chair and Senator Myron Flugstad be approved as Senate Secretary.

The motion to do so was made by Senator Richard Burns and seconded by Senator Roy Aldridge.

The motion was passed unanimously.

Senator Amany Saleh reported that Richard Steiner will give a lecture on environmental issues on September 23, 2010 at 7 p.m. in the Student Center Auditorium, and will also conduct a question and answer session on academic freedom co-sponsored by AAUP and the Faculty Senate on September 23 from 1:30 to 3:00 in the eighth floor library boardroom. She also said that the Diversity Committee is working on a statement to be included in the handbook regarding diversity and requested that departmental policies on diversity be sent to her.

President Gilbert introduced eight new members of the Senate. They are: Senators Faye K. Cocchiara, Joelleen K. Sinclaire, Patty Murphy, Marika Kyriakos, Claire Garrard, Warren Johnson, Bill Payne, and Loretta Brewer. Dr. Andrew J. Novobilski introduced himself as the new dean's representative to the Senate.

President Gilbert proposed that the Senate act as a co-sponsor of the Task Force on Campus Security Report to the Chancellor. The motion was made by Senator Loretta Brewer and seconded by Senator Larry Salinger to have the Senate co-sponsor the report. A concern was raised about the lack of mention of security cameras in the report.

The motion was passed unanimously.

Senator Bill Humphrey moved and Senator Richard Grippo seconded a motion to support the Persona Non Grata Policy. Concerns were raised about the lack of oversight or an appeals process, the lack of specificity on who was to be included in the policy, and what constituted unauthorized entry into or use of ASU buildings and grounds.

The motion was voted down unanimously.

President Gilbert distributed copies of the timeline for the system president's search. She reported that there are now six candidates for the position and the faculty representatives on the Advisory Committee now have full voting privileges. Senator James Bednarz moved and President-elect John Zibluk seconded a motion to thank the Board of Trustees for giving the four campus faculty representatives full rights.

The motion passed with three votes in opposition and two abstentions.

President Gilbert distributed the Committee Interest Survey Form for senators who wish to serve on Senate committees. The deadline for returning the survey is Friday, September 24.

Old Business:

Interim Provost Glen Jones presented a report on internal faculty equity raises. All faculty members may petition for internal equity raises for part of the \$100,000 that is available this year. Provost Jones recommended that the

Faculty Handbook section on equity raises be updated. Senator Mike McDaniel said that the section would be looked at and sent through the shared governance process.

Senator Saleh moved and Senator Andy Mooneyham seconded a motion that a committee on internal equity raises be established.

The motion passed unanimously.

Dr. David Cox gave a report on the strategic planning retreat that will take place in Centennial Hall on October 14, 15, and the morning of October 16. The session will use the Open Space Technology concept developed by Harrison Owen who will serve as the facilitator of the retreat. The point was made that everything would be open to discussion and all faculty were urged to attend if possible.

Dr. Lynita Cooksey and Mrs. Julie Isaacson gave reports on the Higher Learning Commission process. Dr. Cooksey urged all faculty members to volunteer to serve on the writing committees so that the best possible report would come out of the process. Students are also welcome to participate in the committee writing process.

The adoption of the Proposal on Social Networking was moved by Senator Bednarz and seconded by Senator Mooneyham. It was mentioned that guideline one seemed unrealistic, that the provisions of the proposal were too restrictive and would stifle creativity.

The motion was voted down with no yes votes and three abstentions.

The adoption of the Appropriate Use Policy was moved by Senator Humphrey and seconded by Senator Aldridge. The proposed policy is for the entire system and follows the Jonesboro campus policy. Concern was raised about using personal jump drives on university equipment and that surveillance of faculty use of university equipment should not occur without previous warning.

The motion failed with one yes vote, thirteen no votes and six abstentions.

Provost Jones made the point that jump drives bypass campus firewall security measures.

Senator McDaniel reported that a draft of the conflict of interest report will be ready for the Senate to consider at the October 1 meeting.

President-elect Zibluk gave a report on the updates to the Senate web site. In the future links to documents will be sent to Senators and faculty and not the documents themselves which have been filling up mailboxes. Senator Humphrey moved and Senator Grippo seconded the motion to make this change in the distribution of documents.

The motion passed unanimously.

Announcements:

President-elect Zibluk announced that there would be an informal get together of current and past senators at the Brickhouse Restaurant at 5:30 on Friday evening.

Senator Grippo raised the issue of whether giving large raises to system personnel was appropriate at this time. The consensus was that nothing could be done about this issue.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:40 p.m.

Attendees

Association Officers

Beverly Boals Gilbert John B. Zibluk Richard Grippo

Senators

Bill Humphrey

Faye K. Cocchiara

Richard Segall

Jollean K. Sinclaire

Patty Murphy

Andy Mooneyham

Amany Saleh

Bill Rowe

Marika Kyriakos

Claire Garrard

Warren Johnson

Richard Burns

Larry Salinger

Alex Sydorenko

Richard Wang

Myron Flugstad

Jeffrey Helms

Bill Payne

Loretta Brewer

Roy Aldridge

Mike McDaniel

Stacy Troxel

James Bednarz

Visitors

John M. Pratte

Andrew J. Novobilski