Faculty Senate Minutes for October 1, 2010

The meeting was called to order by President Beverly Boals Gilbert at 3:02 p.m.

Senator Bill Humphrey moved and Senator Andy Mooneyhan seconded a motion to approve the minutes from the September 17, 2010, Faculty Senate meeting.

The motion passed.

Interim Chancellor Dan Howard reported that Arkansas State University has been recognized by Military Times' Edge magazine as one of the top ten most veteran friendly campuses in the nation. He also reported that contrary to rumors there were no preconceptions or secret plans on the part of the administration for the strategic planning process that will take place on October 14-16, 2010.

Old Business

1. Vice-President Jack Zibluk made and Senator Humphrey seconded the following motion:

Whereas, the offices of the interim president and the interim provost have in good faith attempted to address faculty internal equity salary issues;

Whereas, the university has allocated \$100,000 to a fund to begin to address internal salary equity issues;

Whereas, the interim provost's office, with the cooperation of institutional research, has reviewed the salaries of each faculty member and found the cost of addressing internal faculty equity to be far in excess of that amount.

Whereas, salary equity is a structural issue and the under-funding of the salary equity pool forces faculty and administrators to make decisions based on merit as well as equity;

Whereas, internal equity and merit are different issues that call for different approaches and internal equity and merit are discussed in separate portions of the Faculty Handbook;

Whereas, through budget personnel reallocations, attrition, and other budget adjustments, funds may be found to fully address internal equity;

Therefore be it resolved, that the Faculty Senate requests additional funds be allocated to the internal equity salary adjustment fund as soon as possible.

The motion passed with one abstention.

2. Senator Mike McDaniel moved and Senator Alex Sydorenko seconded the motion to accept the Conflict of Interest revision for the Faculty Handbook.

The motion passed with one abstention.

3. Senator Faye K. Cocchiara moved and Senator Rich Grippo seconded a motion to approve the Proposal for New Shared Governance Committee on Campus Safety. Senator Humphrey said that the committee composition of six staff members and only one faculty member should be changed to increase the number of faculty. Senator James Bednarz moved and Senator Richard Burns seconded an amendment to increase the faculty representation on the proposed committee from one to two.

The amendment carried with three votes against and one abstention.

The main motion to approve the proposed committee then passed unanimously.

4. President Gilbert proposed that Professors Lynn Howerton and Louella Moore should serve on the Internal Equity Committee. Any other recommendations for faculty members to serve on this committee should be made within one week, by Friday, October 8, 2010.

New Business

1. Professor Julie Isaacson presented the changes to the Grievance Policy for the Faculty Handbook. Senator Humphrey moved and Vice-President Zibluk seconded the motion to approve the changes to the Grievance Policy. Several modification were suggested including clarification of the role of deans and chairs, whether the class action situation should be legally reviewed and that a new heading should be added toward the end of the document. It was agreed that these changes were editorial and would be done before the document is sent on.

The motion to approve passed with two opposed and two abstentions.

2. Senator Richard Wang moved and Senator Bill Rowe seconded a motion that the Internal Senate Committee appointments as proposed by President Gilbert be confirmed.

The motion passed unanimously.

Other

- 1. President Gilbert announced that it would no longer be mandatory that people attending the strategic planning sessions be in attendance for all three days.
- 2. President Gilbert proposed the creation of a committee to look into the question of how to select the mace bearer for graduation and other ceremonies. She requested that interested senators respond within one week if they were interested in serving on this committee.
- President Gilbert proposed that a History Committee be created to continue the process of honoring retired faculty members that had begun during the centennial celebration. Senator Jackie McBride made the motion to create this committee and Senator Pradeep Mishra seconded the motion.

The motion passed unanimously.

- 4. President Gilbert announced that the system president search advisory had recommended that two of the candidates be brought onto campus for interviews. She said that there are currently no internal candidates for the position.
- 5. Senator McDaniel announced that contrary to rumors the Appropriate Use of Technology Policy had not been approved at the September 10, 2010 Board of Trustees meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 4:07 p.m.

Attendees:

Association officers:

Beverly Boals Gilbert

Jack Zibluk

Richard S. Grippo

Agriculture:

Bill Humphrey

Business:

Fay K. Cocchiara

Richard Segall

Jollean K. Sinclaire

Communications:

Pradeep Mishra

Education:

Patty Murphy

Andy Mooneyham

Jackie McBride

Amany Saleh

Fine Arts:

Bill Rowe

Marika Kyriakos

Humanities and Social Sciences:

Warren Johnson

Richard Burns

Larry Salinger

Richard Wang

Library:

Myron Flugstad

Military Science:

Jeffrey Helms

Nursing and Health Professions:

Bill Payne

Gauri Bhattacharya (proxy for Loretta Brewer)

Roy Aldridge

Mike McDaniel

Stacy Troxel

Science and Mathematics:

Jim Bednarz

University College:

Rhonda Curbo

Visitors:

Samuel G. Smith – The Herald