ASU FACULTY SENATE

MINUTES

December 1, 2000

FACULTY ASSOCIATION

Jeff Bailey, President (Library)

Mary Jean Rutherford, Past President (NHP)

Nonie Wiggins, Secretary/Treasurer (NHP) absent

COLLEGE OF AGRICULTURE

Paul Armah

COLLEGE OF ARTS AND SCIENCES

Roger Abernathy

Bob Bennett

Dick Freer

David Jimerson proxy

Ernesto Lombeida

Bill Maynard

Joe Sartorelli

Victoria Spaniol

Richard Wang

COLLEGE OF BUSINESS

Chris Brown absent

Dan Marburger

Clint Relyea absent

Jim Washam

COLLEGE OF COMMUNICATIONS

Jack Zibluk

COLLEGE OF EDUCATION

Cindy Albright

Steve Haggbloom

Joe Justen

Veda McClain

Carl Vaupel

COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING

Charles Coleman

COLLEGE OF FINE ARTS

Bill Rowe

Molly Simpson

Theron Waddle

COLLEGE OF NURSING & HEALTH PROFESSIONS

Terry Baggs Steve Guffey Laura Owens

UNIVERSITY COLLEGE

Dee Layton

LIBRARY

Myron Flugstad

MILITARY SCIENCE

Daniel Tiscareno absent

COUNCIL OF ACADEMIC DEANS

Jan Duggar absent

PROXIES

P. Nave (Jimerson)

PARLIAMENTARIAN

Michael Morrell

VISITORS

Jennus Burton, J. W. Mason, Jim Farris, Stan Vanagunas, Linda Pritchard (CAS), Greg Chance (KASU Radio); Deanna Barton, Kathy Meyer, Janet Hardin (Staff Senate); Lee Ann Harmon, Tami Murray, Pamela Davis (Human Resources); Carol Mease

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at approximately 3:05 by Chair Bailey.

APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES

Chair Bailey called for any corrections or additions to the November 17, 2000 minutes. The minutes will stand as distributed.

Remarks and Discussion

Jennus Burton, Vice_President for Finance and Administration reported on the status of our health insurance and possible changes that will be coming in January. There was lengthy discussion about the proposed changes to employee health coverage, with many expressing disapproval of the plan to change the early retirement benefit.

REPORTS

None

OLD BUSINESS

NEW BUSINESS

Senator Guffev expressed concern about the time line for the health care coverage. Chair Bailey asked Jim Farris, chair of the Fringe Benefits Committee, if he knew of any legal obligations regarding the 125 coverage and the proposed January 1 deadline. There was concern expressed that there may be some legal issues. There was great concern about the time line in which the senators were being asked to make decisions and recommendations without the input of their faculty. Senator Guffey made the motion to ask that the University delay the implementation of any changes in insurance charges and coverage until February 1, 2001. R. Freer second. The vote was 19 in favor, 5 opposed. Motion carried.

Other new business. The nomination of faculty members to the VPAA search ad doc advisory committee. The names planed in nomination were: Agriculture Paul Armah Arts and Sciences Bob Bennett Business Gail Hudson Engineering Charles Coleman Fine Arts William Allen Library Jeff Bailey Nursing and Health Professions Elizabeth Stokes University College Kathy Masters

There was concern from the College of Education senators that there was not a faculty representative on the committee. Chair Bailey stated that the chairs and deans each had one appointment to the committee, and their appointments were from the Colleges of Education and Communications, and the senate would appoint representatives from the remaining colleges. Chair Bailey asked for a motion to endorse these nominees for appointment to the Ad Hoc committee for the VPAA search. R. Wang moved to endorse the nominations, S. Guffey second. The vote was 21 in favor, 2 opposed. Motion carried. **ANNOUNCEMENTS**

None

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 4:57.