Faculty Senate Minutes for September 4th, 2015

Chair Andy Mooneyhan called the meeting to order at 3:05 pm. The meeting was held at the Delta Center for Economic development, Room 201.

Attendance

Andy Mooneyhan, Greg Phillips, Claudia Benavides, Mitch Holifield, Suzanne Melescue, Larry Morton, Loretta McGregor, Julie Isaacson, Pradeep Mishra, Shivan Haran, Donna Caldwell, Rejoice Addae, Claire Abernathy, Richard Segall, Warren Johnson, Cherisse Jones- Branch, April Sheppard, Jeff Jenness, John Beineke, Fabricio Medina-Bolivar, Julie Grady, Kyle Chandler, Ryan Kelly, Nikesha Nesbitt, Bill Rowe, Sandra Combs, Larz Roberts, Bruce Johnson

Approval of minutes

Senator Larz Roberts moved to approve the minutes from the last faculty senate meeting in April. The motion was seconded by Senator Larry Morton. The motion to approve was unanimously supported.

Sign in reminder and introductions

Chair Andy Mooneyhan reminded all senators to sign in and take a copy of documents needed for the meeting.

Individual faculty senate members introduced themselves and we were all welcomed by Chair Andy Mooneyhan.

Old business

Travel: In old business from the May 1st Faculty Senate meeting, Dr. Mitch Holifield presented the attached memo (Appendix 1) to the Provost regarding university reimbursement for meal expenses incurred while traveling on university business. The memo was developed in response to faculty in two colleges being denied meal reimbursements during the 2014-2015 academic year. The memo noted that this denial violated provisions in the following university's documents: "Travel Guidelines" and "Arkansas State University-Jonesboro Summary of the State of Arkansas 'Revised' Travel Regulations," and "Arkansas State University-Jonesboro Travel Expense Allowances." The memo asked the Provost to advise administrators within the academic branch of the university that they honor all eligible travel allowances. Senator Holifield moved that the Senate send the memo to the Provost.

Second: Senator Bill Rowe

Faculty held discussion, motion carried:

All in favor: 17 Opposed: 1 Abstentions: 6

New business

Vice chair selection:

Dr. Greg Phillips nominated by Senator John Beineke

Second: Senator Jeff Jenness

Motion to close nominations: Senator Loretta McGregor

Second: Senator Donna Caldwell Both motions approved unanimously

Secretary selection:

Claudia Benavides nominated by Senator Bruce Johnson

Second: Senator Loretta McGregor

Motion to cease nominations: Senator Loretta McGregor

Second: Senator Donna Caldwell Motions approved unanimously.

Campus Restructuring

Dr. Lynita Cooksey, Provost, addressed the senate.

Summary: Visiting with Deans from now until September 16th, 2015 about suggestions on restructuring.

Any other units wishing to relocate may submit a white paper fully outlining the proposed realignment are due to the Provost's office by November 1st, 2015.

Deans will have until November 15th to respond to the white paper(s).

Vice Chancellor's office will make decisions on restructuring by December 15th.

Restructuring will take effect June 15th, 2016 unless someone moves to relocate earlier.

Timeline is or will soon be on the Academic Affairs website.

Payroll deduction -

Past President Julie Isaacson addressed the senate regarding payroll deduction for dues payment to the Faculty Association. More members have paid than in the past. The Faculty Association appreciates the assistance from Human Resources in this matter.

Summary: 85 faculty members used payroll deduction so far.

Approximately 150 paid their dues.

Approximately 350 faculty did not pay their dues.

Summer school pay policy – Chair Andy Mooneyhan asked to be notified by email of anyone's desire to be on a committee to review this issue. Senator Loretta McGregor volunteered to serve on this committee.

SGOC proposals

1) 15FA01: Reviewed "FI" proposal for creating a failing grade due to academic integrity violations.

Faculty discussion: What other institutions do this? Burden of proof on the faculty? Protocol? Appeal process? "FI" may be misunderstood as Failure Incomplete, not Failure due to an Academic Integrity Violation. Call from Chair Andy Mooneyhan to read proposal and provide comments.

2) 15FA02: Academic Hearing Committee Changes.

Date that comments are due is earlier than our next faculty meeting. Senators appeared to be supportive. Please read and provide comments to Andy Mooneyhan.

3) 15FA03: Non-discrimination policy.

Recommendation to include marital status was made. Other questions and comments need to be Emailed to Andy Mooneyhan and will be discussed at the next meeting.

Reports

Committee reports - No report

Past president report - No report

Other - Parking: Sandra Combs

Ten Faculty/Staff spots were removed from faculty parking in front of CoEBS and CoC without notification or reallocation of faculty parking spots.

Discussion: Adjuncts struggle with parking as well as professors who leave campus for on site observation of interns and other university duties. Dr. Cooksey recommends taking the concern to the appropriate Vice Chancellor as Academic Affairs is not in charge of parking. Chair Andy Mooneyhan suggested inviting David McKinney to our next meeting.

Letters of appointment - Bill Rowe

Dr. Cooksey: They will be on mycampus.astate.edu starting this year.

Chair's report

Chair Andy Mooneyhan is resigning from his university position, and as Faculty Senate Chair, due to a family situation.

According to the Faculty Association bylaws, the Vice Chair will lead the next meeting at which time the Faculty Senate will elect an Interim President of the Faculty Association/Chair of Faculty Senate to serve until the Spring when elections can be held by the Faculty Association.

Dr. Cooksey suggested relocating our next meeting to the new HSS building so we can attend the dedication and meet afterwards.

Meeting adjourned.

Submitted by Claudia Benavides, Secretary of the Faculty Senate