Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

College of Sciences and Mathematics Honors Top 2019-20 Graduates


JONESBORO -- The College of Sciences and Mathematics at Arkansas State University has recognized 21 outstanding students who are graduating in 2019-20, according to Dr. Lynn Boyd, dean of the college.  The virtual recognition was in lieu of the awards ceremony normally held during the annual Convocation of Scholars.

The Chancellor’s Scholar award was presented to Samuel Whitmire of Jonesboro.  The Chancellor’s Scholar is the graduating student with the highest overall grade point average in the respective academic college.

Whitmire, along with Anna Gracie Anders of Beebe and Kennith Swafford of Beebe, received the 4.0 Scholar Award.  When a tie occurs, the Chancellor's Scholar is the student with the most credit hours.

The departmental awards are presented to the graduate in each degree program who has most excelled in scholarship, leadership and service to the department.

Those receiving awards and their respective degree programs were:

Biological Sciences
Anna Gracie Anders of Beebe, Bachelor of Science (BS), biological sciences (pre-professional studies); Kinley Davenport of Bryant, BS, environmental science; Shelby Mosely of Jacksonville, BS, wildlife conservation management; and Kennith Swafford of Beebe, BS, biotechnology; and Hadley Coleman of Jonesboro, BA, environmental studies.

Chemistry and Physics
Anna Gracie Anders of Beebe, Bachelor of Arts (BA), chemistry; ChrisTina Okolo of Batesville, BS, chemistry; Jason Roark of Annapolis, Mo., BSE, chemistry; and Seth Cottengim of Penfield, N.Y., BS, physics.

John "Clay" Heern of Jonesboro and Dongqin Zhang of Paragould, BSE, mathematics; and Samuel Whitmire of Jonesboro, BS, mathematics.

Graduate Programs
Graduate student awards were presented to seven master’s degree students and three doctoral degree candidates.

The master's degree students and their respective programs were: Emily Donahue of Moscow, Penn., Master of Science (MS), biological sciences; Cathie Butler of Paragould, Master of Arts (MA), biological sciences; Miranda Perry of Cabot, MS, mathematics; Madison Rowe of Beech Grove, MSE, mathematics; Emma Martin of Syosset, N.Y., and Ian Godwin of Herndon, Va., MS, environmental sciences; and Bretton Hale of Doniphan, Mo., MS, molecular biosciences.

The doctoral degree students are Ashley Schulz of Silex, Mo., Ph.D., environmental sciences; and Hong Fong of China and Nirman Nepal of Nepal, Ph.D, molecular biosciences.

# # #

Laboratory Sciences Center
Laboratory Sciences Center