Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Six to Perform for Music Faculty Recital, Sept. 29


Faculty Recital Performers

JONESBORO – The Department of Music at Arkansas State University will present the first concert in the 2015-2016 Faculty Recital Series Tuesday, Sept. 29, at 7:30 p.m. in Fowler Center’s Riceland Hall, 201 Olympic Dr. The concert is free and open to the public.

The concert will open with a concerto for an unusual combination of instruments -- the “Double Concerto for Trumpet, Bassoon, and Piano” by Canadian composer Mathieu Lussier.  Dr. Chris Wilson, trumpet, and Dr. Dale Clark, bassoon, will be featured, with Dr. Lauren Schack Clark playing a reduction of the string orchestra part on the piano.

Dr. Bruce Faske will perform “Concerto for Trombone” by Danish composer Launy Gröndahl with Lauren Schack Clark at the piano.  This composition is in the Romantic vein, with folk-like touches. 

Matthew Carey, baritone, and Lauren Schack Clark, piano, will present three selections from "Drum Taps" by contemporary composer Richard Pearson Thomas, with powerful text about the U.S. Civil War by Walt Whitman. 

Dr. Sarah Jones-Hayes, violinist, and Lauren Schack Clark will close the concert with a performance of the neo-classical "Suite Italienne" by Igor Stravinsky.  This music was originally written for the ballet "Pulcinella," which premiered in 1920.  It was based on music thought to have been written by early 18th century composer Pergolesi, but was later found to have been written by several others.

For more details, one may call the Department of Music at (870) 972-2094.

# # #