Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Arkansas State communications students sweep 2012 Prism Awards


JONESBORO, AR – Students from Arkansas State University’s College of Communications recently swept major Prism awards at the Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) gala in Little Rock.

The winners were announced in conjunction with the professional awards recognition at the Argenta Theatre. Representing ASU in attendance were Dr. Brad Rawlins, dean of the College of Communications; Dr. Gil Fowler, chair of the Department of Journalism; and Lisa Moskal, PRSA advisor and faculty member.

The Arkansas Chapter of PRSSA fosters the growth of the public relations industry. Student Prism awards give students an opportunity to showcase their talents and efforts to the members of the professional society. Students at Arkansas universities and colleges are given awards for outstanding work in communications, journalism and public relations.

The 2012 Prism winners from Arkansas State are:

Winners: Jarrett Clark of Jonesboro, Katherine Cothern of Batesville, Brett Hunt of Corning, Amy McKenzie of Strawberry

Category: Communications Campaigns

Entry: NEA Humane Society Campaign

Class: PR Campaigns


Winner: Jarrett Clark of Jonesboro, Brett Hunt of Corning

Category: Publications Brochure

Entry: NEA Humane Society

Class: PR Campaigns


Winner: Katherine Cothern of Batesville

Category: Publications

Entry: NEA Humane Society Renewal Postcard

Class: PR Campaigns


Winner: Morgan McKenzie of Trumann

Category: Writing/Media

Entry: Halle Berry Pitch Letter

Class: PR Campaigns


Winner: Katherine McBride of Little Rock

Category: Writing/Media

Entry: Radio PSA for Crimestoppers

Class: PR Campaigns


Winner: Cody Slater of Rison

Category: Writing/Press Release

Entry: Craighead County Crimestoppers Person of the Year Banquet

Class: PR Campaigns


Winner: Amber Horton of North Little Rock

Category: Special Event

Entry: Families Outreach Craft Night

Class: PR Campaigns