Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Arkansas Delta Byways Recognizes Tourism Achievement


Christy Murphy (second from left) is congratulated on being named outstanding member of Arkansas Delta Byways by (from left) Marcel Hanzlik, Dr. Ruth A. Hawkins and Joe David Rice.  Rice was recognized as tourism person of the year.

JONESBORO – Arkansas Delta Byways (ADB), the tourism promotion association for 15 counties in Eastern Arkansas, presented its 17th annual Delta Awards recognizing tourism achievement in Eastern Arkansas Friday, Feb. 17, during festivities at the Cooper Alumni Center at Arkansas State University.

Joe David Rice, tourism director for Arkansas Department of Parks and Tourism, and Dr. Ruth A. Hawkins, executive director of both ADB and Arkansas Heritage SITES at A-State, presented remarks.  Jonesboro Mayor Harold Perrin gave the welcome address, and Marcel Hanzlik, president of Arkansas Delta Byways, served as master of ceremonies.

The winners of the various tourism awards were:

  • "Media Support Award": Richard Benson, The Morning Show, KXJK/KBFC Radio, Forrest City, St. Francis County
  • "Hospitality Award": Raymond Willie, Pillow-Thompson House, Helena, Phillips County
  • "Entrepreneur Award": Shelby’s Sweet Corn, Marked Tree, Poinsett County
  • "Tourism/Promotion Support Award": Lights of the Delta, Blytheville, Mississippi County
  • "Festival/Event of the Year Award": Big River Crossing, West Memphis, Crittenden County
  • "Boot Strap Award": Our Lady of the Lake Altar Society Annual Spaghetti Dinner, Lake Village, Chicot County
  • "Cultural Heritage Award": Front Porch Blues Bash, Helena, Phillips County

ADB presented its "Outstanding Member Award" to Christy Murphy of Gillett in Arkansas County and its "Tourism Person of the Year" award to Joe David Rice.

The event was sponsored by Arkansas Delta Byways with support from the Jonesboro School of Art and the Jonesboro Regional Chamber of Commerce.

Arkansas Delta Byways (ADB) is the official tourism promotion association recognized by the Arkansas Department of Parks and Tourism.  Member counties include Arkansas, Chicot, Clay, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Desha, Drew, Greene, Lee, Mississippi, Monroe, Phillips, Poinsett and St. Francis.  

ADB is based on the A-State campus in Jonesboro and receives administrative support through the university’s Arkansas Heritage Sites Office.  For more details, contact Arkansas Delta Byways, (870) 972-2803.