Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

16th Annual Delta Awards for Tourism Achievement


JONESBORO – The 16th annual Delta Awards recognizing tourism achievement in Eastern Arkansas will be presented during festivities Friday evening, Feb. 26, at the Brinkley Convention Center, 1501 Weatherly Drive in Brinkley.

The evening will begin with a 5:30 p.m. Silent Auction, followed by the dinner and awards at 7 p.m.   The event is sponsored by Arkansas Delta Byways, with support from local businesses in Brinkley and Clarendon.

Arkansas Delta Byways, located on the Arkansas State University campus, is a nonprofit organization recognized by the Arkansas Department of Parks and Tourism as the official tourism promotion association for 15 counties in Eastern Arkansas.  Counties include Arkansas, Chicot, Clay, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Desha, Drew, Greene, Lee, Mississippi, Monroe, Phillips, Poinsett and St. Francis. 

The annual awards event is open to the public.  Tickets are $25 per person or a table of eight for $175.  For information on ticket availability, contact Gretchen Sacotnik, (870) 573-6751, or by email gretchen.sacotnik@Arkansas.gov.

Finalists for the awards are:

Media Support Award

  • Richard Benson, The Morning Show, KXJK/KBFC Radio, St. Francis County
  • Deborah Horn, SEA Life, South Arkansas
  • Dr. Blake Wintory, Images of Chicot County, Chicot County

Hospitality Award

  • Beth Traylor Taylor, Monroe County
  • The Ridges at Village Creek, Cross County
  • Tomatoes at the Trotter, Drew County

Entrepreneur Award

  • Delta Q, St. Francis County
  • Cathy Campbell, Phillips County
  • Sonflour Bakery, Desha County

Tourism/Promotion Support Award

  • Arkansas Delta Flatlander, Crittenden County
  • Lights of the Delta, Mississippi County
  • Pumpkin Hollow, Clay County

Festival/Event of the Year

  • ASU Museum Black History Month, Craighead County
  • Bicentennial of the Louisiana Purchase Land Survey, Lee, Monroe & Phillips Counties
  • Tyronza Stars and Stripes Festival, Poinsett County

Boot Strap Award           

  • Collins Theater at Paragould, Greene County
  • Helena Museum, Phillips County
  • Tour duh Sunken Lands, Poinsett & Mississippi Counties

Cultural Heritage Award

  • Blues Heritage Youth Art Competition, Phillips County
  • Grand Prairie Center Performance Series, Arkansas County
  • Writing Retreat for Military Veterans, Hemingway-Pfeiffer Museum, Clay County

Outstanding Member Award

     To be announced

Tourism Person of the Year

     To be announced

# # #





Arkansas Delta Byways logo