Welcome to Arkansas State University!
+ Campus alert: A-State Closed Thurs. March 5

A-State Will be Closed on Thursday, March 5

Arkansas State University will remain closed on Thursday, March 5 due to incoming winter weather. This includes the main campus at Jonesboro and the Paragould center.

For the convenience of students, faculty/staff and the community:
  • The Acansa Dining Hall will operate under inclement weather hours, 10:30 a.m. - 8 p.m.
  • The Red Wolf Center will be open from noon - 5 pm.
  • The Dean B. Ellis Library will decide on their hours after campus conditions are evaluated Thursday morning.
  • GradStock has been rescheduled to March 9, from 9 a.m. until 5:30 p.m. at Cooper Alumni Center.
  • The Testing Center will be closed.
  • Wednesday's performance of "12 Angry Men" has been cancelled. Contact the Box Office for refund information.
  • NEA Science Fair has been postponed to March 16 at Hames Room, Convocation Center.
  • Communications Day (March 7) has been cancelled.
  • The SunBelt basketball match-ups with South Alabama will be played as scheduled.
  • This weekend's baseball matchup with UTA has been moved to Smith-Wills Stadium in Jackson, MS. First game is Saturday, March 7 at 7 p.m. and a doubleheader on Sunday, March 8 at 1 p.m.

The university reminds students to monitor their official Arkansas State student email account for information regarding classes, as explained in an announcement from Provost Lynita Cooksey.

For further updates, watch the A-State website at AState.edu and official social media: Facebook.com/ArkansasState and on Twitter @ArkansasState.

More Information
University Communications
(870) 972-3820

Emergency Contact
University Police
(870) 972-2093

Social Media
Facebook Twitter
X Close

Admission Criteria

All international graduate students must meet the following criteria to be admitted to Arkansas State.

Minimum Age Requirement

Student must be at least 18 years old to apply to Arkansas State University. If you are under 18, you will need to provide a proof of having a legal guardian in United States.

Academic Criteria

International applicants for graduate admission must provide the following:

  • Official Copy of University Diploma or Provisional Graduation Certificate without any conditions stating that Bachelor’s Degree will be awarded in native language with translation in English
  • Official Copy of all University Transcripts in English with a minimum GPA of 2.75/4.0 (some programs might require higher GPA)
  • Official Copy of all University Transcripts in native language with translation in English. Minimum required Grade Point Average (GPA) is 2.75 /4.0 for graduate school. GPA requirement and admission deadlines are subject to change. Refer to respective program’s webpage. Conditional Admission does not guarantee admission into graduate program.
  • All of the Academic Transcripts/grade reports and Graduation certificates/diplomas/degree sheets should have the original stamp from the Issuing authorities and should come in their sealed envelopes.
Each graduate program may have admission criteria beyond the above criteria. To view each program's specific criteria, select your desired program from the master graduate programs list.

Proof of English Proficiency

Incoming graduate international students must meet one of the following criteria:

  • Completing ASU’s ESL Program Minimum grade of 90% or above
  • Completing the required level of a language program, which has a formal agreement with ASU (check with International Programs)
  • TOEFL – Paper-Based 550 – (ASU’s Code:6011)
  • TOEFL – Internet-Based 79 – (ASU’s Code:6011)
  • IELTS* – Academic 6.0. – Official Score from the Testing Center
  • PTE – Pearson Test of English Academic 56
  • Completing the required level of a CEA Accredited ESL program (check with Office of Admissions, Records and Registration)   
  • Obtaining minimum 65% in English at X and XII in Certificate in India, and Pakistan
  • University Graduate (minimum 2 years of attendance) from USA, UK, Canada (except Quebec), Australia, and New Zealand 

English proficiency requirement may be waived for countries whose official language is English. Decision will be made by admissions committee upon reviewing the application and academic credentials.

  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Canada (except Quebec)
  • Dominica
  • Ireland
  • New Zealand
  • South Africa
  • United Kingdom