NEWS RELEASE

Zach Marsh of Hot Springs selected as Outstanding Who's Who Award recipient for 2012

11/28/2012

JONESBORO -- What started out as an awards ceremony during which he and a group of fellow students were recognized turned into an extraordinarily memorable event Monday night for Zachary A. Marsh of Hot Springs. He learned that he is this year's recipient of the Outstanding Who's Who Award at Arkansas State University.

A senior, Marsh was singled out for the award because of his extensive public service contributions to the university and community, while attaining an excellent academic record in his major program, biological sciences.

He was one of 40 students who were named to the prestigious "Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges" at A-State for 2012. The group was honored during a campus ceremony.

"The Who's Who program recognizes outstanding student leaders who enhance the positive image of American youth," according to Dr. Rick Stripling, vice chancellor for Student Affairs. "Significant academic achievement and involvement in extracurricular, civic, and student professional activities are attributes of students selected for Who's Who."

Who's Who Among Students is one of the most highly regarded and long-standing honors programs in the nation, having earned the respect of faculty members and administrators at hundreds of campuses.

Selections to Who's Who Among Students are made each fall by individual schools. Campus nominating committees, created to nominate the upperclassmen and graduate students eligible for the program, are composed of representatives from the faculty, administration and student body.

Because curricular and extracurricular programs vary, each university and college is assigned a quota of nominees. This quota is carefully calculated to ensure a well-rounded representation of the student body.

Marsh, who plans to graduate next May, received \$500 from Crews and Associates investment bankers, a Little Rock firm that donates the prize for the outstanding recipient. Steve Pulley, who represented Crews and Associates, made the award presentation.

Among his many achievements and activities, Marsh is a Chancellor's List student who received a Student Undergraduate Research (SURF) Fellowship and an Arkansas Biosciences Institute undergraduate summer internship. He has served as chief of staff for the Student Government Association, president of the Honors College Association, external vice president for Pi Kappa Alpha fraternity, and chair of the Relay for Life. He also helped start the ASU Volunteer Council, which has taken on numerous service projects.

"Upon graduation from ASU, I plan to serve in the Peace Corps, teaching high school science in sub-Saharan Africa," Marsh wrote in his Who's Who application. "While in Africa, I will also work to promote important public health issues."

After returning to the U.S., he plans to use his experience to help prepare him for graduate school and an advanced degree in public health, with an emphasis in epidemiology.

"Zach is not merely involved, he is devoted to the pursuits where he puts his time and energy," commented one of the faculty members who evaluated nominations. "He is a relationship builder and a gifted communicator."

The complete list of Who's Who honorees for 2012 and their program majors includes (grouped by academic college):

College of Agriculture and Technology -- Miranda D. Brink of Hardy (agricultural business); Stephanie A. Overby of Little Rock (animal science); and John (Art) Singleton of Monticello (agricultural business).

College of Business – Addie M. Acuff of Mount Horeb, Wis. (international business); Jacob W. Yates of Jonesboro (finance); Gonglei Zheng of Shanghai, China (international business); Luna A. Unnold-Cofre of Jonesboro (international business and political science, double major).

College of Communications – Shelby R. Fiegel of Lewisville (journalism/public relations); Veronica A. Heatherly of Bryant (journalism/graphic communications); Natalie S. Marcus of Manila (journalism/public relations); Latasha T. Moore of Falcon (communication studies); Jana D. Waters of Jonesboro (journalism/advertising).

College of Education – Jillian L. Bess of Cape Girardeau, Mo. (athletic training); Lindsey M. Parker of Harrisburg (early childhood education); Sheena T. Terrell of Southfield, Mich. (graduate student in educational leadership).

College of Fine Arts – Muriel S. Aston of Marshall (graphic design); Erynn S. Fenner of Jonesboro (instrumental music); Marshalle J. Perkins of West Memphis (art); Alicia S. Rose of Jonesboro (graphic design); Shanshan Ai of Guangzhou, China (graphic design and accounting, double major).

College of Humanities and Social Sciences – Lori L. Hall of Hot Springs (graduate student in criminal justice); James E. Hollywood III of Caruthersville, Mo. (criminology); Leonard "LJ" Jones of Stockton, Calif. (English); Vontia M. Mitchell of North Little Rock (political science and world languages and cultures, double major).

College of Nursing and Health Professions – Bobbi L. Benson of Trumann (communication disorders); Colea S. Blann of Little Rock (nursing); Charmaine L. Cook of Little Rock (social work); Kelsey S. Dow of Jonesboro (communication disorders); Danielle R. Goodwin of Batesville (nursing); Derika B. Jones of Osceola (nursing); Samantha M. Knight of Bono (nursing); Addie N. Kortan of Blytheville (nursing); Kayla E. Miller of Cabot (nursing); Sandra F. Walker of Jonesboro (social work); Destiny M. Warren of Forrest City (social work).

College of Science and Mathematics – Shelby R. Brooks of Benton (chemistry); Alyssa M. Goodin of Wynne (biological sciences); Veronica L. Hawes of Jonesboro (biological sciences); Zachary A. Marsh of Hot Springs (biological sciences); Natalie P. Wilbanks of Jonesboro (chemistry).