## News Release

## 31 Distinguished A-State Faculty Selected for Wall of Honor

12/5/2014

JONESBORO – The Arkansas State University Faculty Association will recognize 31 individuals who have been selected for the Distinguished Faculty Wall of Honor during the association's annual holiday event on Wednesday, Dec. 10.

All A-State faculty, family and friends of the honorees, and previously designated distinguished faculty are invited to the 4-5 p.m. ceremony and 5-6 p.m. reception at the Cooper Alumni Center, 2600 Alumni Blvd.

Recognition of distinguished faculty began during the university's Centennial Celebration in 2009-10 when the Faculty Association selected the "First 100 Distinguished Faculty." Every five years the association selects a number of retired faculty, through a well-defined faculty committee nomination process, who have made long-term significant contributions to Arkansas State.

"One of the goals of the Centennial was to establish traditions on campus. The creation of the Arkansas State University Faculty Association Historical Committee has allowed us a mechanism and a process for continuing a tradition of honoring past faculty who have made lasting and significant academic contributions to the university," stated Dr. John D. Hall, professor of psychology and counseling and chair of the Historical Committee, which is charged with overseeing the process.

Julie J. Isaacson, associate professor of nursing and Faculty Association president, added, "When reviewing the nominations for the distinguished faculty and their accolades, a few common themes emerged. They all are experts in their disciplines and they all served and represented the university well. Most importantly, these faculty were student focused. They engaged their students and challenged them academically; they made a difference in their lives."

During the ceremony, Mike Doyle, general manager of KASU radio, will read the name of each honoree, and Isaacson and Hall will present a certificate to each faculty member or a family or faculty representative.

The 2014 selections, whose names will be added to the Distinguished Faculty Wall of Honor outside Centennial Hall in the Carl R. Reng Student Union, include 31 former faculty members representing all colleges on campus.

Here is the list of newly designated distinguished faculty:

- Roger W. Abernathy, Ph.D., Professor of Mathematics and Statistics, 1985-2010
- Nancy Bacot, Ed.S., Instructor in Teacher Education, 1972-2013
- Larry D. Ball, Ph.D., Professor of History, 1970-2001
- George Berger, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Agronomy and Plant Breeding, 1971-1982
- Thomas D. Bishop, Ed.D., Professor of Mathematics, 1970-2002
- Roger A. Buchanan, Ph.D., Professor of Zoology, 1992-2012
- Roger G. Carlisle, M.F.A., Professor of Art, 1974-2014

- Charles R. Carr, Ph.D., Professor of Philosophy, 1975-2012
- Thomas H. Chaffee, M.F.A., Professor of Art, 1968-2010
- William G. Chance, Ed.D., Professor of Elementary Education, 1965-1990
- William M. Clements, Ph.D., Professor of English, 1971-2011
- Rick C. Clifft, Ph.D., Professor of Engineering, 1980-2014
- J. Scott Darwin, Ph.D., Professor of German, 1969-2008
- John M. Enger, Ph.D., Professor of Education, 1976-2000
- Joel T. Gambill, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Journalism, 1970-2011
- Charles W. Hartwig, Ph.D., Professor of Political Science, 1973-2011
- Jasper A. Hayles, Jr., Ph.D., Professor of Agricultural Education, 1967-1988
- D. Lynn Howerton, Ph.D., Professor of Psychology, 1974-2014
- Richard E. Jorgensen, M.Mus., Professor of Music, 1975-2009
- Donald P. Kedzie, Ph.D., Professor of Engineering, 1984-1996
- Albin J. Langlois, Ph.D., Professor of Plant Science, 1964-1997
- Julia Lansford, M.Mus., Associate Professor of Music, 1964-2008
- Van Rick McDaniel, Ph.D., Professor of Zoology, 1968-2007
- Clyde A. Milner II, Ph.D., Professor of History, 2002-2014
- Lawrence A. Mink, Ph.D. Professor of Physics, 1966-2000
- Louella Moore, DBA, Professor of Accounting, 1991-2014
- Thomas J. Parsons, Ph.D., Professor of Engineering, 1984-2014
- Amos B. Rougeau, Ed.D., Professor of Agricultural Education, 1957-1992
- Elizabeth N. Stokes, Ed.D., Professor of Nursing, 1991-2006
- Edgar L. Whitsitt, B.S., Dean of the College of Agriculture, 1917-1937
- Don Wright, Ed.D., Professor of Education, 1970-1997

###

This and other news releases also available at:
AState.edu/a/asunews <a href="http://www.astate.edu/a/asunews">http://www.astate.edu/a/asunews</a>

Tom Moore
Director, University Communications
Arkansas State University
Jonesboro, Arkansas
<a href="mailto:tmoore@astate.edu">tmoore@astate.edu</a> ~ (870) 972-2985 (direct and voicemail) ~ (870) 972-3820 (office)

"Arkansas State University educates leaders, enhances intellectual growth and enriches lives."