

News Release

## College of Nursing and Health Professions Cites Top Graduating Students during Convocation of Scholars

ARKANSA

5/6/2014

JONESBORO -- The College of Nursing and Health Professions at Arkansas State University recognized its most outstanding graduating students during its annual Convocation of Scholars honors program, according to Dr. Susan Hanrahan, dean of the college.

Audra Gambill of Jonesboro, a nursing major, was recognized as recipient of the Chancellor's Scholar award for having the highest grade point average (4.0) in the college. Morgan Caples of Jonesboro, a communication disorders major, and Adam Windle of Jonesboro, a medical imaging and radiation sciences major, received the 4.0 Award. When more than one person has a 4.0, the Chancellor's Scholar is the student who has completed the most credit hours.

Twenty-eight students were selected by faculty in the individual degree programs to receive the awards for outstanding achievement, leadership and service to their respective departments and degree programs, both in the classroom and in the clinical experience.

Award winners in the School of Nursing were: Amanda McMillon of Paragould, MSN, adult health nursing; Ashley Ward of Jonesboro, MSN, family nurse practitioner; Timothy Rigsbee of Jonesboro, MSN, nurse anesthesia; and Randi Wright of Cave City and Kayla Spray of Trumann, BSN, nursing.

Others were Dana Campbell of Memphis, AAS, nursing; Marie Dozier of Jacksonville, and Janae McGregor of Judsonia, AAS, nursing (traditional), ASU-Beebe site; Tanashia Williams of Mabelbale, AAS, nursing (LPN to RN), ASU-Beebe site; Desiree Underwood of Cotter, AAS, nursing (traditional), ASU-Mountain Home site; Shauna Spoon of Gassville, AAS, nursing (LPN to RN), ASU-Mountain Home site; and Christina Ray of Caruthersville, Mo., AAS, nursing (traditional), West Memphis site; Brittany Brawner of Marked Tree, AAS, nursing (LPN to RN), West Memphis site.

Award winners in the Department of Clinical Laboratory Sciences and their respective degree programs were: Jennifer Kappelman of Paragould, BS, clinical laboratory science; and Keashia Guthrie of Jonesboro, AAS, clinical laboratory science.

In the Department of Communication Disorders, the top students and their respective degree programs were: Amanda Layer of Rector, BS, communication disorders; Jessica White of Paragould and Holly Morrison of Harrisburg, MCD, communication disorders.

The students recognized in the Department of Medical Imaging and Radiation Sciences were: Melanie Mann of Paragould, BSRS, imaging specialist; Ashley Walls of Clinton, BSRS, diagnostic medical sonography; Lindsey Beth Rogers of Stamps, BSRS, radiation therapy; Amanda Lovins of Paragould, and Meaghan Nix of Sheridan, BSRS, magnetic resonance imaging; and Krista Turner of Corning, AAS, radiologic technology.

The Department of Physical Therapy recognized two students in their respective degree programs: Jerrica Thomas of Utica, Mississippi, DPT, doctor of physical therapy; and Kacey Moodey of Kennett, Missouri, AAS, physical therapist assistant.

The Disaster Preparedness and Emergency Management program recognized Molly Brown of Jonesboro, Master of Science, disaster preparedness and emergency management.

The award winners in the Department of Social Work were Paula Weaver of Imboden, BSW, social work; and Cathy Boyd of Biggers, MSW, social work.

Sarah Thiel of Paragould received the Beverly Bartels Undergraduate Nursing Service Award.