University Promotion, Retention and Tenure Committee, 2017-18

Minutes of 9 April 2018

The meeting began at 3:30 p.m. in room 203 of Reynolds Hall, with Debbie Shelton (Nursing and Health Professions) presiding. Present were Brian Church (Education and Behavioral Science), Myleea Hill (Liberal Arts and Communication), Beth Hood (Agriculture, Engineering and Technology), Yeonsang Hwang (Agriculture, Engineering and Technology), Suzanne Melescue (Sciences and Mathematics), Phyllis Pobst (Liberal Arts and Communication), John Robertson (Business), and Lisa Bohn (Liberal Arts and Communication).

The committee agree that using Dropbox to distribute the applicants' files had been convenient, but noted some problems that should be fixed before next year. We agreed that the files that are scanned in future should be free of handwritten comments; that all pages of each file should be included, and in the correct order; and that tables and other data should not be scanned sideways, since they are hard to view on a screen.

John Robertson suggested that next year's calendar should give the same date for submission of 3rd-year review files as for promotion and tenure applications. The committee agreed. Debbie Shelton said that Jeannie Cossey in the Provost's office will be working on the calendar this summer, which should lead to improvements for next year. She added that Ms Cossey had been an invaluable help to her this year.

Yeonsang Hwang proposed that in the future, applicants should be instructed to provide a translation into English of the titles of presentations and publications in other languages. The committee emphatically agree.

The committee turned to the 26 promotion and tenure applications, and considered them in the order on which they appeared on the spread sheet which Ms Cossey had provided.

The minutes of 13 November 2017, which had been distributed as an email attachment, were approved without changes.

At the conclusion of the meeting Brian Church generously agreed to be nominated, and was unanimously elected to be chair of this committee in the 2018-2019 academic year.