Shared Governance Proposal

I. Date

November 17, 2020

II. Sponsoring Constituent

Faculty Achievement Awards Committee

III. Statement of the Issue

Non-tenure-track faculty are ineligible for teaching awards at Arkansas State University. Currently, the university has faculty awards for *Teaching*, *Scholarship*, *Professional Service*, and *Advising*. The advising award is the only award open to non-tenure-track faculty.

IV. Rationale for Proposal

Non-tenure track faculty represent a growing constituency of educators on this campus and their contributions in the classroom are no less valuable than that of their tenured or tenure-track faculty colleagues. In fact, non-tenure-track faculty fill a special niche unique to each department. Therefore we propose the creation of a new teaching award specifically for non-tenure-track educators at Arkansas State University, with a monetary value of \$2500, just like the existing Faculty Achievement Awards.

V. Type of Review

Full