Welcome to Arkansas State University!

Distinguished Performance Awards

DPA Invite 2016

Staff Senate

invites you to the 23rd annual

Distinguished Performance Awards

and Service Recognition Ceremony

Tuesday, May 10, 2016

1:30 p.m.

Auditorium, Reng Student Union

Refreshments available immediately following the ceremony

A-State Footer image

Winners of Distinguished Performance Awards

Congratulations to staff members who have been selected as the university's Distinguished Performance Award recipients for 2015-16. They will be recognized Tuesday, May 10, during the 23nd annual Distinguished Performance and Service Recognition ceremony, hosted by Nikki Turner, Staff Senate President, and Rebecca Oliver, Director of Honors. They are:

-- Team Player; Prathima Appaji, Psychology & Counseling
-- Unsung Hero; Natalie Turney, English, Philosophy & World Languages
-- Team Achievement: University Police Department
-- Enhancing the Student Experience: Renette  McCargo, Media & Communication
-- Rookie of the Year: Johnathan Martin, Facilities Management Recycling
-- Outstanding Part-Time: Hillary Brooks, Bradbury Art Museum
-- STAR (Service, Teamwork, Attitude, Reliability): Harvey Lee, Information Technology Services

Staff Members Retiring with 484 Years of Service to A-State

During the Distinguished Performance Awards and Service Recognition ceremony for non-faculty employees, 21 employees who have or will retire during the 2015-16 year will be recognized. Lois Jean Travis, Small Business Development Center, has the longest time of service, 39 years. Combined, the retirees have 484 years of experience. The other retirees and area from which they are retiring are: Marilyn Brewer, Student Affairs, 31 years; Amy Brown, Printing Services, 26 years; Chris Collins, Academic Affairs & Research, 15 years; Faye Crawford, University Police Department, 21 years; Polly Cronos, Human Resources, 14 years; Robin Hicks, Academic Affairs & Research, 25 years; Phyllis Johnson, College of Agriculture & Technology, 25 years.

Others are Sherry Johnson, Office of the Chancellor, 31 years; Kathryn C. Jones, Institutional Research, 34 years; Jackie McLeod, Residence Life, 11 years; Curtis L. Miller, College of Media & Communication, 27 years; Kathy Newberry, Academic Affairs & Research, 12 years; Renee O'Connor, College of Fine Arts, 38 years; Robin Pawson, Political Science, 7 years; Roy L. Perry, Information & Technology Services, 16 years; Elaine Mayo Poynter, Alumni Relations, 21 years; Sam Shannon, Information & Technology Services, 35 years; Al Stoverink, Facilities Management, 10 years; Dorothy Thweatt, Information & Technology Services, 36 years; and Juanita Barr Turner, Childhood Services, 10 years.

Milestones of Service Recognition at Annual Awards Ceremony

Three staff members -- Lorerinda Budd, College Of Business; Jeff Gulley, Facilities Management; and Sharon McDaniel, Office of Admissions & Records -- have achieved 30 years of service at A-State this year. Eight individuals have attained 20 years of service: Jane Coburn, Disability Services; Rosemary Freer, Testing Center; Elizabeth Jennings, Library; Helen J. McCoy, Facilities Management; Teresa Patterson, Information & Technology Services; Sheryl Puckett, Campus Card Office; Cheryl Richey, Facilities Management; and Natalie Turney, English, Philosophy & World Languages.

42 employees will be recognized for serving the university for 10 years - Nikki Adams, Gerald Adkisson, Karl Ahrent, Angela Blankenship, Christy Brinkley, Glen Broadway, Michelle Brown, Grady Clark, Angela Crawford, Rodney Davis, David Engelken, Cynthia Engles, Nanya French, Anita George, Carlisa Gilmer, Michael Glover, Pamela Heath, Melissa Jackson, Amber Jones, David Lovelace, Phyllis McWhorter, Amber Martin, April Morris, James Novalick, Martha Phillips, Billy Pierce, Stephanie Prince, Patsy Puckett, Dwain Roberts, Jimmy Rousseau, John Sifford, Traci Simpson, Bobbie Anne Smith, David Swift, Melissa Taylor, Juanita Turner, Anthony Turturro, Lynn Waldroup, Randy Wheaton, Mary Williams, Vicki Worrell, and Cheryl Wright.