Welcome to Arkansas State University!
+ Campus alert: A-State Closing Early

A-State Closing at 1 pm on Wednesday, March 4

Arkansas State University will be closing at 1 p.m. on Wednesday, March 4 due to incoming winter weather. This includes the main campus at Jonesboro and the Paragould center.

For the convenience of students, faculty/staff and the community:
  • The Acansa Dining Hall will be open until 8 p.m.
  • The Red Wolf Center will close at 3 p.m.
  • The Dean B. Ellis Library will close at 1 p.m.
  • GradStock has been rescheduled to March 9, from 9 a.m. until 5:30 p.m. at Cooper Alumni Center.
  • The Testing Center will close at 1 p.m.
  • Tonight's performance of "12 Angry Men" has been cancelled. Contact the Box Office for refund information.
  • NEA Science Fair has been postponed to March 16 at Hames Room, Convocation Center.
  • Communications Day (March 7) has been cancelled.

The university reminds students to monitor their official Arkansas State student email account for information regarding classes, as explained in an announcement from Provost Lynita Cooksey.

For further updates, watch the A-State website at AState.edu and official social media: Facebook.com/ArkansasState and on Twitter @ArkansasState.

More Information
University Communications
(870) 972-3820

Emergency Contact
University Police
(870) 972-2093

Social Media
Facebook Twitter
X Close

Wilson Award MedalThe Wilson Award is presented annually at the Student Honors Awards ceremony to the university's outstanding graduating senior. The recipient is selected on the basis of character, determination, involvement, and academic achievement. This honor is bestowed in memory of R. E. Lee Wilson, a member of the Arkansas State University Board of Trustees from 1917 until his death in 1933.

Presentation of the award began in 1934. Until 1980 the award was presented to the outstanding male and female graduating senior. Beginning in 1981 it was determined this practice was no longer necessary, and the university began presenting the award to one student.


Any graduating senior this academic year (August 2014, December 2014, or May 2015) is eligible to apply. The selection committee considers participation and leadership in student organizations along with scholastic achievement. Leadership and participation in organizations or activities of campus significance are considered more strongly than those of a general nature.

Distinguished Service Awards

Because so many students are eligible for the Wilson Award, the university began presenting four to seven Distinguished Student Awards. It is from the Distinguished Student Award winners that the Wilson Award winner is selected.

Selection Process

All completed applications are reviewed by a selection committee comprised of faculty, staff, students and former Wilson Award recipients. The committee selects a minimum of four and maximum of seven students as recipients of the Distinguished Student Awards. From the Distinguished Student Award winners, the committee then selects one recipient for the R. E. Lee Wilson Award. Nominees should be prepared for a possible brief interview as part of the selection process. The awards will be presented at a ceremony in April.


Previous Wilson Award recipients formed a Wilson Fellows Chapter of the ASU Alumni Association which has funded a scholarship program. Wilson Award winners receive a post-graduate scholarship from the chapter to be used for additional education after graduation from ASU.