Welcome to Arkansas State University!
+ Campus alert: A-State Closed Thurs. March 5

A-State Will be Closed on Thursday, March 5

Arkansas State University will remain closed on Thursday, March 5 due to incoming winter weather. This includes the main campus at Jonesboro and the Paragould center.

For the convenience of students, faculty/staff and the community:
  • The Acansa Dining Hall will operate under inclement weather hours, 10:30 a.m. - 8 p.m.
  • The Red Wolf Center will be open from noon - 5 pm.
  • The Dean B. Ellis Library will decide on their hours after campus conditions are evaluated Thursday morning.
  • GradStock has been rescheduled to March 9, from 9 a.m. until 5:30 p.m. at Cooper Alumni Center.
  • The Testing Center will be closed.
  • Wednesday's performance of "12 Angry Men" has been cancelled. Contact the Box Office for refund information.
  • NEA Science Fair has been postponed to March 16 at Hames Room, Convocation Center.
  • Communications Day (March 7) has been cancelled.
  • The SunBelt basketball match-ups with South Alabama will be played as scheduled.
  • This weekend's baseball matchup with UTA has been moved to Smith-Wills Stadium in Jackson, MS. First game is Saturday, March 7 at 7 p.m. and a doubleheader on Sunday, March 8 at 1 p.m.

The university reminds students to monitor their official Arkansas State student email account for information regarding classes, as explained in an announcement from Provost Lynita Cooksey.

For further updates, watch the A-State website at AState.edu and official social media: Facebook.com/ArkansasState and on Twitter @ArkansasState.

More Information
University Communications
(870) 972-3820

Emergency Contact
University Police
(870) 972-2093

Social Media
Facebook Twitter
X Close

Self-Study Committees

Self-Study Steering Committee

The Self-Study Steering Committee is charged with the task of providing leadership for the Arkansas State University-Jonesboro campus community in the self-study process for reaffirmation of continued accreditation by the Higher Learning Commission in 2012-2013.

The role of the steering committee in the self-study process will be to:

  1. provide representation for the various constituency groups of the campus community
  2. promote interest and involvement in the self-study process throughout all constituencies of the campus community
  3. ensure that the five criteria for accreditation are appropriately addressed by the criterion subcommittees to support the production of a self-study report that is based on an evaluative format inclusive of argument and evidence; current issues, challenges and accomplishments; appropriate institutional change request(s); and areas of consultation
  4. carry out the self-study process with efficiency and integrity to warrant its general acceptance by the campus constituencies
  5. assist with the integration of the findings of the self-study with ongoing University assessment and planning so that the self-study process will have lasting significance on the institution
  6. serve as the primary resource group during the Higher Learning Commission site visit

Committee Membership

  • Julie Isaacson, Co-Chair, Nursing and Health Professions
  • Lynita Cooksey, Co-Chair, Academic Affairs & Research
  • Lonnie Williams, Student Affairs
  • Bill Smith, Advancement
  • John Pratte, Sciences & Math
  • Osa Amienyi, Communications
  • Cherisse Jones-Branch, Humanities & Social Sciences
  • Thilla Sivakumaran, Education
  • Jim Washam, Business
  • Kathryn Jones, Academic Affairs & Research
  • Russ Hannah, Finance & Administration
  • Beverly Boals Gilbert, Continuing Education and Community Outreach
  • Phillip Ladd, Staff Senate
  • D'Andre Anderson, Student Government Association
  • Josie Welsh, Assessment
  • Mark Young, Community Representative
  • Graduate Student - Student representation varied throughout the self-study process
  • Undergraduate Student - Student representation varied throughout the self-study process