Welcome to Arkansas State University!
+ Campus alert: A-State Closed Jan. 16
+ SHOW

A-State Closed on Jan. 16 due to winter precipitation.

Arkansas State University is closed today, Tuesday, Jan. 16, due to winter precipitation. All winter response staff members are requested to report to their duty stations.

Overnight, snow fall made conditions for students, faculty and staff hazardous.

"Our administrative team determined the snowfall was going to be heavier than forecast and while today was scheduled to be the first day of class for the spring 2018 semester, I've decided it is best that we cancel classes for today," Chancellor Kelly Damphousse said.

All classes at the Jonesboro and Paragould locations are cancelled. Online classes continue.

While offices and classes are closed, university residential life areas continue to operate to support the on-campus student population.

Important Updates

  • The American Spiritual Ensemble will perform at Fowler Center's Riceland Hall tonight at 7:30pm.
  • For students living on-campus, Acansa Dining Hall will operate under "brunch hours" with service from 10:30 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. and then 4:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m.
  • ETS testing candidates that were scheduled for today should contact the Testing Center in the Reng Student Union at 972-2038 when A-State reopens and they will assist with rescheduling.
  • The Red WOLF Center will open today on winter weather hours of noon until 5 p.m.
  • Dean B. Ellis Library is closed all day today.

For updates on A-State events, please check the university’s official website AState.edu or social media feeds, Facebook.com/ArkansasState or @ArkansasState on Twitter.

More Information
University Communications
870-972-3820

Emergency Contact
University Police
870-972-2093

Social Media
Facebook Twitter
X Close

International Offices

Vietnam

VNIS

     Quang Nguyen

     qnguyen@astate.edu 

     study@astate.edu.vn 

China

Sinogate

     John Pate

     jpate@astate.edu

South Korea

K&C International

     Bosun Choi

     bosunchoi@empas.com

Southeast Asia - India, Nepal, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Pakistan

TASA

     Devyani Khare

     devyani@tasmac.ac.in

     dkhare@astate.edu 

Caribbean Islands

Progressive Academy

     Janaka Herath

     janaka@progressiveacademy.net

Middle East and Saudi Arabia

Academia First

     Mohammad (Mo) Khamis

     director@academiafirst.co.uk

     admission@a-state.org

Colombia, Costa Rica, China, Brazil, Saudi Arabia, Libya, United Emirates Arabs, Jordan

Visas Global/Edu Bookings

     Kamil Acero

     kacero@edubookings.com

Taiwan

IAE Taiwan

     Frank Li

     frank@iae-taiwan.net

Malaysia

WisDen EduPark sdn. Bhd.

     Gracious Aloysius Fernandez

     gracious@wisden.com.my

Japan

NCN

     Tomoko

     ncnadmission@gmail.com