The University seeks to maintain a healthy and safe work environment for its employees, while containing cost. Therefore, the University will promptly provide medical services for an injured employee in connection with the injury received. The following will be the procedures for filing a Worker's Compensation Claim.
Employees are required to notify their direct supervisor immediately following a workplace injury or illness arising out of and in the course of their employment.
The injured employee is required to complete a Employee Accident Form, Form N, and Form PECD 1 within twenty-four hours of initial injury.
The Supervisor is required to complete First Report of Injury Form A1, and Form PECD 2 within twenty-four hours of initial injury or illness.
All minor work related injuries can be treated with First Aid Kits found in their respective departments.
The Employer (Arkansas State University) will choose the initial treating Physician. If medical care is needed, escalating care should be used. If the injured person requires medical care, they should go to the Student Health Center. If they more than likely need a physician, go to First Care-Stadium Clinic. If it is an emergency, call (911) if an ASU phone (9-911) and send the injured person to St. Bernard’s Regional Medical Center, 224 East Matthews, Jonesboro, AR 72401, (870) 972-4100.
Prior to having a prescription filled the employee must get a temporary prescription form from the EH&S Office 501 Irroquois Environmental Research Safety & Training Building. The Employer (Arkansas State University) will establish a primary pharmacy for all Workers' Compensation injuries that require a disbursement of medications. Approval for all prescriptions will be phoned into the Environmental Health & Safety Department. All employees with work related injuries should take their prescriptions to: Soo’s Drug and Compounding Center, 2822 East Nettleton Avenue, Jonesboro, AR 72401, (870) 932-6930.
All paperwork associated with the employees' claim for injury (doctor's reports, return to work slips, referrals to specialty physicians, etc.) must be submitted to the Environmental Health & Safety Department.
All individuals handling the processing of worker's compensation claims (Supervisor's, department heads, clerks, etc) will be required to complete training on the completion of all forms and Workers' Compensation processes.
Employees making false claims, representation or statements for the purpose of obtaining workers' compensation coverage will be guilty of a Class D felony, punishable with up to 6 years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine.
The provisions of these procedures are designed to comply with the rules and regulations of the Arkansas Workers' Compensation Commission.