Welcome to Arkansas State University!
+ Campus alert: A-State Remains Closed Through Friday. March 6

A-State Remains Closed Through Friday. March 6

Arkansas State University will remain closed through Friday, March 6, due to heavy snowfall and hazardous road conditions. This includes the main campus at Jonesboro and the Paragould center.

For the convenience of students, faculty/staff and the community:
  • The Upward Bound session scheduled for March 7 is cancelled.
  • Saturday's Archeology Day activities at the Museum have been postponed until Saturday, March 14.
  • The MPA Program's "Career Conversations" event with Dr. Michele Reba has been postponed until Wednesday, March 11, at 1 p.m., Wilson Hall, Room 412.
  • The Acansa Dining Hall will operate under inclement weather hours, 10:30 a.m. - 6:30 p.m.
  • The Red Wolf Center will be open from noon - 5 pm during the closure.
  • The Dean B. Ellis Library will be open on Friday from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. and regular hours over the weekend.
  • GradStock has been rescheduled to March 9, from 9 a.m. until 5:30 p.m. at Cooper Alumni Center.
  • The Testing Center will be closed.
  • NEA Science Fair has been postponed to March 16 at Hames Room, Convocation Center.
  • Communications Day (March 7) has been cancelled.
  • This weekend's baseball matchup with UTA has been moved to Smith-Wills Stadium in Jackson, MS. First game is Saturday, March 7 at 7 p.m. and a doubleheader on Sunday, March 8 at 1 p.m.
  • The Honors Reception event scheduled for Saturday, March 7 has been cancelled.
  • The Arkansas State University Regional Math Contest scheduled for Saturday, March 7, has been rescheduled to 4:45 pm on Monday, March 9. For more information please see the Math Departments Homepage.

The university reminds students to monitor their official Arkansas State student email account for information regarding classes, as explained in an announcement from Provost Lynita Cooksey.

For further updates, watch the A-State website at AState.edu and official social media: Facebook.com/ArkansasState and on Twitter @ArkansasState.

More Information
University Communications
(870) 972-3820

Emergency Contact
University Police
(870) 972-2093

Social Media
Facebook Twitter
X Close

News Article

Agriculture and Technology Professors Submit Successful Grant Proposal for Environmental Project


BENTON -- The Saline County Regional Solid Waste Management District (SCRSWMD) has presented a research grant for $13,600 to Dr. Rajesh Sharma, assistant professor of technology, and Dr. Gregory Phillips, professor of plant biotechnology, in the College of Agriculture and Technology at Arkansas State University in Jonesboro.

The grant was awarded to Arkansas State to develop a process that will provide the Solid Waste District with a more environmentally sound and financially advantageous method to properly dispose of yard waste. Sharma is the principal investigator (PI), and Phillips is the co-PI for the project.

On behalf of the District, those announcing the grant were Shane Broadway, director of the Arkansas Department of Higher Education; Jeff Arey, mayor of Haskell, and SCRSWMD board chair; Lanny Fite, Saline County judge; and Michael Grappe, SCRSWMD executive director.

The District earlier had issued a request for proposals (RFP) from all Arkansas institutions of higher education for assistance with a project to deal with lawn clippings and leaves in a more effective way.

The proposal from A-State, the only one submitted, calls for development of a technique for combining lawn waste and a fertilized slurry adhesive material into a product that is usable as fertilizer, mulch for erosion control, and other lawn care applications.

The researchers, who will involve students in the study, will submit their findings within one year. Their research and an accompanying product manual will become property of the Solid Waste District.

Grant Presentation
Those participating in the grant presentation by the Saline County Regional Solid Waste Management District were (from left) Shane Knight, director of operations; Dr. Rajesh Sharma, assistant professor, Keith Arnoult, undergraduate student in technology, and Dr. Greg Phillips, professor, at Arkansas State; Jeff Arey, mayor of Haskell and SCRSWMD board chairman; and Shane Broadway, director of the Arkansas Department of Higher Education.

# # #